Leamington Spa History
The town of Leamington Spa, was a tiny village until about 1800. The value of the mineral springs was known in the middle ages, but it was not until 1784 that the small village began rediscovering its saline springs and started building baths around some of them.
In the period just prior to 1810 it had become obvious that the town’s existing Bath Houses could not cope with the ever increasing number of visitors. Plans were made to build a bathing establishment on a scale surpassing anything yet attempted. A syndicate was formed to provide the necessary funds.
A company was formed to buy the land on the west side of the Parade for building purposes. This was the start of the ‘new town’ and it was hoped the new baths could be erected in this area. However, attempts to discover a reliable source of saline water in this vicinity were unsuccessful. Eventually in 1810 a spring was discovered on land owned by Mr Greatheed – a member of the syndicate – on the north side of the river, but only a stones-throw away from the old town.
Universities in Leamington Spa